A Civic Media radio station

Civic Media Logo
Milwaukee mayor Johnson dominates primary; Spring Election ballots finalized

Source: Stuart Wattles / Civic Media

Milwaukee mayor Johnson dominates primary; Spring Election ballots finalized

Some primaries in southeastern Wisconsin drew over a half-dozen candidates.

February 20, 2024 10:43 PM CDT

By: Jimmie Kaska & Stuart Wattles

MILWAUKEE, Wis. (WAUK) – Incumbent Milwaukee Mayor Cavalier Johnson dominated the mayoral race as part of Tuesday night’s primary election in southeastern Wisconsin.

Johnson picked up 84.79% of the vote. He’ll face David King in the spring.

In Waukesha County, voters advanced Roger Adams and Cheryl Kaye for Village of Waukesha Trustee in the primary, eliminating incumbent Michael Gorectke. Brookfield Alderperson for District 5 will see Dean Marquardt and Amanda Davis square off for an open seat. Two open seats on the Town of Genesee Board drew seven candidates, with Charles Ross, Art Schneider, Terry Tesch, and Tony Reece moving on to the Spring Eleciton.

Walworth County had two primaries for Town of Richmond Board Supervisor, with District 3 advancing David Alexander and Steven Wade to the spring, while District 4’s race this spring will be between Mike Bergman and Tom Kraus.

In addition to the mayoral primary in Milwaukee County, the Spring Election for District 18 County Supervisor will be between Brandon Williford and incumbent Deanna Alexander, who finished separated by just 45 votes out of over 1,300 votes cast.

The City of Milwaukee had primaries in three districts. Incumbent Lamont Westmoreland cruised in District 5 with 82.81% of the vote. He’ll face Bruce Winter in the spring. District 7 was a four-way race for an open seat, with DiAndre Jackson and Jessica Currie narrowly advancing with 28.21% and 27.07% of the vote. In District 11, Peter Burgelis earned over half of the primary vote with 52.64% and will see Josh Zepnick on the spring election ballot.

There were four school district primaries. Cudahy will see Lissa Skoglund, Michael Johnson, Randy Hollenbeck, and Ellen Price advance, with Price earning five more votes than two other candidates to round out the four-candidate field for two seats. Franklin eliminated one of its seven candidates in the primary, with Maqsood Khan, Angela Bier, Ann Sepersky, Angela Kallay, Jaclyn Gaffney, and Jon Peccarelli going to the spring election. The six will compete for three seats.

Greendale narrowed its field down from five to four, with Kristin Settle, Brian Bock, Mary Laurel Grogan, and Elise Ciske advancing to face each other for two seats. Shorewood will have Andrew Frey and Ellen Eckman compete for one seat this spring.

The Village of Fox Point will have Mark Freedman, David Miller, Max Barry, and Paul Krechel on the spring ballot for Village Trustee, with two seats available. The City of Franklin Municipal Judge election this spring will be between Georgia Konstantakis and John Brennan.

Voter turnout in Milwaukee County was 10.16%.

Three southeastern Wisconsin school districts sought referendums this election, and all four questions between the three districts failed. Wilmot Union got the closest to passing, with 45.66% voting yes and 54.34% voting no on a $7.5 million operational referendum.

Waterford, which asked two questions, saw both of its referendums fail. The first question, a $14.16 million operational referendum, had 2,634 no votes and 2,212 yes votes. The second question, for $77.8 million for facilities updates, only garnered 1,883 yes votes to 2,954 no votes. Burlington, which was asking for $11 million in an operational referendum, saw its question rejected 3,432 to 2,724.

You can find a list of county clerk websites that will show full election results on Wisconsin’s election information page. All results from Tuesday night are considered unofficial until canvassing takes place in the days following the election.

For information on Wisconsin’s elections, you can visit the Wisconsin Elections Commission. You can also see who has registered to run in different races and see candidate nomination paperwork.

More Articles